We recommend that you do multiple separate searches:
Show All Answers
You may request a copy either in person or by mail or fax with payment upfront. Copies are $1 per page with a $2 minimum when mailed out. Copies can be faxed or emailed with payment up front at a cost of $4 for the first page and $3 for every page thereafter. (Note: It is helpful if you know the approximate year the deed may have been recorded and the abbreviated legal description from the tax statement. A parcel ID number is also helpful, but please keep in mind that documents are recorded by the legal description, not the parcel ID number. Parcel ID numbers are for tax purposes only.) If you need the copy immediately, then you should use a credit card to search via the internet. It is a little bit more expensive but you can print your copy right away or download to your computer by printing it as a PDF.
No. Please consult a legal advisor for assistance on types of forms, how to complete forms or for legal advice. The Recorder's Office personnel cannot provide assistance in these areas as it is against the law to give legal advice unless you are a licensed attorney.
Minnesota Uniform Conveyance Blank forms are available from area attorney's offices or abstract/title companies or from the Minnesota Department of Commerce website (PDF). The Recorder's Office does not create any documents for liability reasons (Also see question number 2).
You may either contact an abstract/title company, an attorney, or come in to the office and do the research yourself. Office personnel will be happy to show you how to get started. Due to time constraints, it is our policy that office personnel will only do a two-year tract check.
Contact the Assessor's Office at 218-547-7298 or visit the Homestead page.
View the Mortgage Registration Tax (PDF) for information on figuring deed taxes or mortgage registration taxes.
See the attached listings.
Abstract/Torrens Listing for Platted Property (PDF) or Unplatted Torrens Property (PDF).