History of SWCDs

SWCDs are organized under MN State Statute Chapter 103C. An SWCD is a legal body accountable to the general public. SWCDs have a sound accounting system and audit process directed by the Minnesota Board of Water and Soil Resources. Supervisors are elected by nomination districts on the general ballot for year terms which are staggered.Cass County Township

The Cass Soil Conservation District was officially organized on April 5, 1963, and the certificate signed by Secretary of State Joseph L. Donovan. On January 28, 1963, a petition was filed in the office of the State Soil Conservation Committee requesting the organization of a Soil Conservation District. The need for a district was heard before the State Soil Conservation Committee on February 27, 1963. Public hearings were held in Walker, Pine River, and Leader as prescribed by law before being heard by the State Soil Conservation Committee. The boundaries of the district were described as "All of the County of Cass, Minnesota". On March 25, 1963, the matter was again heard by the State Soil Conservation Committee and it was determined that the need for a SWCD was practicable and feasible. On April 2, 1963, the State Soil Conservation Committees' decision was sent to the Secretary of State to be signed forming the Cass Soil Conservation District. The official headquarters for the district was established as Pine River, MN.

On March 20, 1964, the headquarters of the district was officially changed to Walker, MN. The name of the district was changed to Cass Soil and Water Conservation District on June 29, 1964, and remains the same today.

Supervisors & Members

The first appointed supervisors for the district were Mr. Ralph Melbey, District Number 1, and Mr. John Titterington, District Number 2. After the district was established, the first election was held on May 11, 1963. Candidates elected were Mr. Raymond Barchus, District Number 3, Mr. Glenn Shaw, District Number 4, and Mr. Bob Richards, District Number 5. The first board meeting was held at the Lake Region Hotel in Pine River on the evening of May 23, 1963. Ralph Melby was elected president, Glenn Shaw was elected Vice President, John Titterington was elected Secretary, Robert Richards was elected Treasurer, and Raymond Barchus was elected as member.

Over the years Memorandums of Agreements have been signed with the Division of Forestry, Minnesota Department of Conservation, the United States Department of Agriculture, Soil Conservation Service, State of Minnesota, and Board of Water and Soil Resources, to name a few.

Minnesota Board of Water and Soil Resources
USDA NRCS Natural Resources Conservation Service